Fish Hero’s

When I was six, on the family pond in Kansas, I hooked up with a monster perch.
Had to be at least as big as my palm was then….
Knew right away that I was a fish hero. Destined for fishiness.
Clearly, not much has changed, in the last forty-nine years.
Many, but not all fishermen, feel much the same.
Regardless of their fishing ability, or amount of time spent on the water.
I guess it’s because fishing is so easy to take up, and fish are perceived as dumb.

After many years wandering and fishing around the west, I came to rest in Truckee.
Looked like a nice piece of water to fish.
Being a dry fly kind of guy, I began to cast and drift.
To no avail……
Bloody fish……
Who do they think they are?
Treating a fish hero this way…..for the whole summer…..
Then I met a guy who showed me how to catch two fish in one drift with a bobber rig.
My days as a dry fly snob came to an end.
Twenty years have passed since then.
I will still throw a dry fly to a rising fish. In a heartbeat…..
But it is not something I have to do now, from habit.
I’ve learned to fish where they are, and catching more fish because of it.
Changing your game up, is step one, in becoming the fish hero you want to be.
The Truckee fish don’t recognize heroes, per say.
But will oblige hard work and persistence.
Hang in there…..

About Bigflyguideservice

Full time fly fishing guide on the Truckee River and other California state waters. Smaller stream techniques as well as switch rod instruction. 40 years experience fly fishing. Catch and release only.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.