I’ve often talked about the things I see, going to and from the water.
Just as interesting sometimes, is what I don’t see.
Since late May, a family of killdeer have met me at a trail head.
They have moved on………
The golden stone shucks that have littered the shore for a few weeks, are gone.
The bits of cray fish that colored the stream bottom for more than a month, are gone….
The pale morning duns are tiny and sparse. Almost gone….

Now, when I roll out at dawn, I might put on a jacket.
The water is a little cooler every day.
Nighttime air temps dropped to mid 30s in the canyon.
Days getting lighter, later.
And getting darker a bit earlier in the evening.

Found some Oct. Caddis shuck today.
A full month early…..
All in all, a perfect start to Fall.
Lots of fish looking at grass Hoppers now, because of fewer food choices. Drown them….
No color change in the foliage, yet…
I say fish now, or hold your peace this Winter.
It’s coming……

About Bigflyguideservice

Full time fly fishing guide on the Truckee River and other California state waters. Smaller stream techniques as well as switch rod instruction. 40 years experience fly fishing. Catch and release only.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.